Sir Winston Churchill KG, OM, CH, TD, DL, FRS, RA: Honours Explained

Table of Contents

Sir Winston Leonard Spencer Churchill KG, OM, CH, TD, DL, FRS, RA – membership and honours explained

  1. KG – Order of the Garter – is an order of chivalry founded by Edward III 1348
  2. OM – Order of Merit recognising distinguished service in the armed forces, science, art, literature, or for the promotion of culture. Est by King Edward VII
  3. CH – The Order of the Companions of Honour, founded on 4 June 1917 by King George V as a reward for outstanding achievements
  4. TD – The Territorial Decoration, military medal awarded for long service in the Territorial Force and its successor, the Territorial Army
  5. DL – deputy lieutenant, a Crown appointment and one of several deputies to the lord lieutenant of a lieutenancy area
  6. FRS – Fellow of the Royal Society granted by the Royal Society to individuals who have made a substantial contribution to the improvement of natural knowledge; mathematics, medical science and engineering science
  7. RA – Membership of the Royal Academy of Arts
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

4 June

1940 WW2 Sir Winston Churchill gave his well known speech containing the words”We shall fight on the Beaches”

Read More »
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x